Sign in to follow this  
Ztone

Desperate! Reprogram remote enginestart with Clifford remote

I have a problem. I live in Sweden and Clifford is not an approoved system with insurance companies here, so they don't have retailers or installers in this country that can help me.

Somehow I've managed, by pressing wird combinations on the five button "big" remote, to de-activate the combination that turned on the remote engine start function.

It worked before I pressed some strange combinations on the remote, but after me having "played" with it, the old combination on the remote that started up the engine, doesn't work anymore.

Is there a way to choose a new combination for the remote-engine-start function by only having access to the car and the remote? There definately should be because it apparently worked the other way around.

Now for you guys who are not interested in why I started playing with the alarm, you can stop reading here :)

I flew over to the UK last week and bought an Evo2. On the ferry back home they wanted everyone to turn off the alarms because many alarms go off by the ship moving and shaking. I didn't have an instructions manual and couldn't get hold of the old owner of the car. I knew by experience that these Clifford Alarms have a service mode (my Skyline has another version of the Clifford Alarm).

So I started pressing all kinds of randomly chosen combinations on the remote trying to find the service mode. Finally belive it or not, I tapped the little side button twice and then the big round button once, and I found the service mode :) The indicator light turned on and stayed on without blinking.

After that... I noticed that the combination "side button twice, then small bottom button once" for turning the engine on with the remote, didn't work :( The only thing that happens now when I press that combination is that all turn signals flash once... but the engine doesn't start.