<neil>

Resurrect valver or cut and run for VR6?

Hi folks - looking for some thoughts / advice on where I'm better spending my money! My valver was in a bit of a state when I bought it last July: in dire need of a service, gearbox & front engine mounts bust, red PSF instead of green, very low suspension with disintegrated bump stops, leaking windscreen, bad DIY paintjob and alloy refurb. In hindsight, I should have been more patient and waited for something in better nick but my old Clio was dead and I was keen to replace it with a Corrado. :bonk:

Anyway, I've fixed up a few bits and pieces myself over the last few months (learning experience more than anything else as I'm new to car maintenance): stock suspension fitted, engine mounts replaced, coolant flush, PSF flush, brakes & clutch bled, oil & filter change, leaking oil pressure switch replaced, new air filter, some engine bay rewiring, new front tyres.

Now I'm faced with a couple of bigger jobs that will cost a fair bit - the power steering rack & pump are knackered, probably due to the red PSF. I'd get that done at a garage rather than doing it myself and while they've got the subframe dropped anyway, I'll get them to change wishbones, droplinks, ARB bushes and ball joints as they're all gubbed too. Also the thermostat as I think it's leaking. The second big job is the heater matrix. I thought it was fine when I bought it but since using it more over the winter, I've noticed the passenger footwell getting suspiciously damp. Oh and it also sounds like one of my hydraulic tappets is clicking away... So three big jobs. And a bunch of minor things like central locking & electric windows (not the fuse), no speed reading to MFA & spoiler, bad fuel economy around town and still the horrendous paint work, alloys and leaking windscreen... :?