Sign in to follow this  
purpleVR6

Help!! How to change ARB bushes

I'm planning to sort the front suspension bushes on my VR6 over next couple of weekends and would like some advice.

I've sourced poweflex bushes and new (VW) balljoints - new bare wishbones as well to make the swop out smoother, even checked all the bolts would loosen - I've heard the horror stories!

Should I tackle changing the anti roll bar bushes at the same time? What' s the procedure please? How far do you need to drop the rear of the subframe? What's the risk of not getting the mounting bolts to line up again?

Sorry for the r r repeat of this question, but I'm new to this game and I don't think I put the subject in right before!!

Cheers

What you will want to do for the sway bar is to remove the two rear most bolts behind the sway bar and the two with the 13 mm heads that hold the sway bar in place. I would then put a jack under the rear of the sub-frame and then remove the two bolts that go through the rear of the subframe. Now take the two front sbframe bolts and back them off 2 turns at most and then lower the rear of the subframe to get the swaybar out. Now you can replace the bushings and slide the sway bar back in place with the bushings on it and having them correctly orientated. It is hard to get the bushings back in correctly with the clamps on but it can be done with lots of swearing and patience.