Sign in to follow this  
taw

Advice on Simple ICE Setup

Need some advice on a simple ICE setup I am considering. I am really new to this so advice will be welcome. :!:

I dont want to spend a fortune and want to do as little custom modification as possible. Also want to initially stick with amplification supplied by the head unit. So, having read the various posts I have come up with the following configuration

Replace the door speakers with 5.25" components, placing the tweeters in the holes occupied by the existing dash speakers. If the tweeters go in the dash is this more than the recommended distance from the woofers and if so will I need a head unit that can compensate or will this be ok. Had initially thought of Infinity 5010CS components.

Will probably just disconnect the rear speakers unless someone can suggest sensible 6x4 rears that are any good.

Expect that this configuration will really require a sub, so what would be best given that amplification will initially just come from head unit. Saw some posts that recommended Infinity Basslink but dont know which one.

No real idea of what head units might be good but dont want to spend more than £200. I had considered a Sony CDX-GT300 (£130) or an Alpine CDA-9831R (£150), although I am open to suggestions.

Also any advice (or pictures) on how best to fit the tweeters in the dash and where best to place the crossovers would be useful (wiring routes etc).

Need some advice on a simple ICE setup I am considering. I am really new to this so advice will be welcome. :!:

I dont want to spend a fortune and want to do as little custom modification as possible. Also want to initially stick with amplification supplied by the head unit. So, having read the various posts I have come up with the following configuration