Sign in to follow this  
UseOnceDestroy

What Manifold?

I'm looking into replacing my stock manifold to increase performance and I wanted opinions on any particular part I should be looking at.

Any suggestions and direct links would be much appreciated.

My Corrado is a 1994 2.9 VR6

Cheers

Honestly ... I'm not sure! :? I'm new to all this. I have been talking to a tuning garage, I told them I wanted to improve performance by having it dyno tuned, he advised I replaced the stock manifold, so I assume he was talking about the exhaust. Fancy giving me a short lesson?! haha :D

He could also mean the Inlet manifold though.

You can replace the exhaust manifold though, with a stainless steel exhaust manifold - Which can cost between £160 for a raceland manifold, right up to the supersprint manifold which costs £400 and odd. Even though the supersprint will be top quality, alot of people go for the raceland manifold (inlcuding myself) and its superb quality esp for the price. Generally a 6 branch exhaust manifold wont give you any more bhp. I found at most, it improved the throttle response.

But, if he did mean the inlet manifold, the Schrick vsr manifolds are the weapon of choice, but are expensive for what power gains you will get - personally i've not got any experience of the schick manifold so cant really help you there.

You will be told that gaining significant more power from a VR wont come cheap.

I'm guessing he was on about a Schrick/VW VSR manifold. This won't give that much more power, but will change the delivery, producing more low down torque. It's expensive for what it is IMHO, and would cost nearly as much as supercharging.

If you're on a budget I would go for 263 cams, decat, BMC air filter, remap. You should see around 220bhp with this. If you're happy to spend a bit, go for a supercharger and you will see 250-300bhp.

Turbo is the best performance upgrade IMHO, but is more costly.

Give DG Autotech a shout for some good advice.

HTH!