Banks88

Newbie from Sheffield thrown in at the deep end!

Hi all! I'm brand new to all this but I'm sure I will get the nack of things! I'm mad on my vw's and I've recently bought my first one from a family member, it's 1994 2.0 16v. I bought it as a project as it has been sat on her drive for 5 years with a broken cam belt! Me and my mate (ex vw technition) We have recently rebuilt it having found it bent all 8 inlet valves. We have changed every serviceable part ie dizzy, rotor, plugs, battery, fuel filter etc we have come to turn it over for the first time and its not firing. We have checked for a spark-ok battery is brand new, but found fuel distributor wasn't feeding fuel to the injectors. Fuel pressure from the tank to the metering head is fine. We decided to change the metering head to no effect! Next we decided to wip the valve cover to check timing of the cams, to find stupidly we hadn't set the timing on the cams correctly. Everything now timed and everything back on to find its still not firing! Any ideas?

Welcome to the forum!

How far out were the cams? did you change the chain also? hopefully you've not bent anything again... check compression!

Is the fuel 5 years old??

Thanks and for the quick reply!

The cams were about 5/6 teeth (100 degree ish) I know is quite a lot! We havnt changed the chain, would this make much difference?? How things have gone its probably the case they have bent again but il stay positive! il get hold of a compression kit and give will give it a go! This may sound daft but would a compression test determine whether or not we have bent the valves again?

Regarding the fuel, there wasn't much in there, most of it was drained before the fuel filter when we took it off, but some may of get into the system. Before we tried firing it up first time we put around £15 worth of fuel.

I think that explains why he's an ex-vw tech :-)