Sign in to follow this  
timatsorted

rear lenses: to spray or not to spray?

Hi guys

I'm thinking a bout a temporary face-lift for my rear lights until I can afford a new replacement set and I'm interested (and scared) by spraying. I'd appreciate some feedback/advice:

How do you get an exact match to the brake lights' red tint? Anybody know the exact paint type? Or do you need to spray upper and lower lenses?

Do you need to prime first (sounds dumb but then I'm a novice so humour me..._

Can they be sprayed while still on the car, as long as it's well masked?

Do they look any good when sprayed or will it just look naff?!

Any other top tips on this topic?

Thanks!

yes i want to do this too.... also i want to "wet 'n' dry" the horid extruded letter all over them.... is this a good idea or will it lok scratched when done ?

What's the view taken by 1) MOT testers, and 2) insurance companies to messing about with the colour and transparency of lenses and reflectors? The testers get all shirty if you have cracked or obscured lights, or those without the mandatory E-marks, and an astute assessor might take a similar line if you have a rear ender (!!) and it can be shown that your set up is non-compliant or modified without a declaration.

I don't want to spoil your fun, but, " better safe than sorry".

Best wishes

RB

I got pulled over by the police for having all read rear lenses and the MOT testers etc will have an equally dim view of it, no pun intended!

It's a game of chance. I took it, got rumbled and had to wipe the red laquer off.

I've done them again but this time a very dark orange. Not ideal but looks better than the *bright* orange they were before.

K

i have given up trying to get my red tinted lenses to flash orange, trying green bulbs works but you cant see them in bright light. it looks the biz though. i am open to offers for the tinted lights!

i thought you could buy all red tail lights about a year ago, i think it was hella too!