Sign in to follow this  
CorradoDriver

White Smoke

Okay, this isnt a big problem well atleast i hope not, lately iv been seeing white smoke from my exaust, its not that bad but when im at a light i can see it, its been raining for a couple days and has been on the cool side lately but i wanted to make sure its nothing seriose, oh and one more thing the coolant level dropped a bit untill the light came on, maybe some air coming out idk please advise, i

Thanks

Imran

Does not sound good.

White "smoke" is usually indicative of steam - your loss of coolant ties in with this.

Cylinder head gasket failure? Check oil dipstick and see if any globules of water are on it.

Im not an expert like some on the forum, so I am sure you will get more feedback.

Not as bad as it can get - many on this forum will have had to have this done on at least one vehicle they have owned.

Labour is most expensive part as upper part of engine has to be dismantled and put back together with new gasket in.

Many guys on the forum will have done this themselve - I haven't, but if you have a mate/acquaintance that is a mechanic all to the good.

Proper diagnosis of problem is first part of action, though.

VR6 is large, complex engine, so garages will probably quote several hundred dollars for job.

Coolant droplets in oil is confirmation - you are suffering a coolant loss such that the warning light came on - that suggests a serious fault.

By "cold" in the USA in August, I suppose you mean 15C!

We are getting down to 7 or 8C in the early mornings here!

Anyway, forget your car just now - get on with your studying. Succeed in that and you will just be able to buy a new car whenever you dont like the look of your exhaust emission. :wink:

21c to be exact at the moment, anyways, do you think i can do it myself?? i dont need any heavy machinary, its kinda hard to study when my corrado might be in some trouble, is it bad to drive it for now until i figure out the problem??