Sign in to follow this  
ianmorgan50

G60 1992 RUNNING PROBLAMS HELP

hi everyone i am new to the forum and the G60 i had a golf gti 2.0 8v mk3 befor this and i love it but i only had the car a week and its not running right since i've had it there been nothing but problams frist the exhaust fall off on the way home so i had to pay out £320 on a new 1 as the rear box it around £110 i just went for a fall stainless system inc de-cat but but it still sounds funny i will do a vid tonight and put it on you tube and add the link but its not right but the if im driving along at 30mph in 3rd gear if i come off the throttle a bit the car judders but its smove on accaration also is very slow even more so after 50mph basicly my golf gti 8v with vavle gide seals gone is faster please help as im very new to this car and dont really understand it yet lol

if you do a little search for G60 problems you will get a more concise answer, but it's generally timing issues (weird system to time them up, another thing to search on here for) or lambda/wiring issues. best to get it to a reputable garage that really know the G60 to get it all checked over (including the charger) for some peace of mind.

Hallo and welcome.

Try this procedure below to check the charger system is working correctly and is not leaking:

G60 boost check

Do you know how to test your boost levels?

Start Motor

Move the MFA selector to "2"

Press and hold the MFA end button (keep holding)

Stop motor

Start Motor

Release the MFA end button.

Press the MFA End button one time.

For UK cars, you should now see 450-470 (warm engine) fluctuating with idle.

Go run your car!!! 3rd and 4th gear to REDLINE. Carefully note the highest #'s you've got.

A pullied charger should not make less than 11.6psi, and even so, thats weak. A Stock charger should make ~~11psi in perfect shape!

USA EURO Hg(#'s of boost/vacuum) Comments

15 200 -23.7

55 400 -17.8

90 600 -11.9

127 800 -5.9