Sign in to follow this  
Neil VR6

Career in automotive industry?

Bit of a longshot here but never mind. I am a bored graduate in a relatively (stress that word) well paid job. However, that job is extrememly boring and being a petrol head I would much rather spend my time with my head under the bonnet of a car or at least in the automotive industry in some capacity. My degree is in Business Studies (which doesn't help) but I crave a job that I will enjoy. Is there any way of getting into the game without coming from an apprenticeship background. Also I have a mortgage now so I cannot take much of a pay cut! Also, I want to have my cake and indeed eat it. Any ideas, experiences, suggestions, paths? Ideas on a postcard please.

Business Manager - a decent one can earn £40 - 45k, probably the most professional position within a dealership outside of the workshop - I should know, I employ two of them

ah dead easy

1. become a mechanic

2. go work for williams

3. take over team

4. dominate world.

seriously tho, i'd have thought a business studies degree wasn't a bad start, ok it's a bit vague :D but why can't you try for a masters in automotive orientated subject or something that shows willing?!

whatever you do your doing right thing thinking of changing it now, i'm jumping from my profession as soon as i'm able.

I figure that I sit in front of a desk for most of my waking hours and quite frankly hate it. I feel like I should go on some kind of reality TV show and go become a dolphin trainer or something, anything's better than this! The thing about becoming a mechanic is that the starting salary wouldn't even cover the mortgage, let alone Optimax for the 'Raddo! Andy, do you have any contacts at all? (BTW, the cars going to JMR for lots of work and a Miltek + decat :twisted: )