Sign in to follow this  
jjgg125

isv - am i getting ripped off?

hello all, until recently i was having the usual VR6 stalling issues.. garage cleaned ISV & throttle body and all was well. Then it started stalling again, the garage replaced a leaking 'fuel return pipe' and 'intake breather pipe' and drew attention to 'idle control valve sticking intermittent.' Car was still stalling so i agreed that they should order in a new ISV, but since then it hasnt stalled in over a week of daily use.

Sorry for the ramble ; heres the real question, theyve got in the ISV now and apparently they want £260 for it!! :mad2: Is that a massive rip off or is that about right? Im pretty reluctant to fork out that much, particularly now that the car seems to be ok again!

sorry if this has been asked before, ive tried the searching thing but found nothing recent...

cheers

I don't know what they are new but you can get them used for around £15 and they are really easily to fit yourself. I am no mechanic and did it.

There are brand new pattern ones on Ebay that are around £60 IIRC. They are actually really good and work perfectly. As said above, second-hand ones can be had cheaply too.

If you can afford to pay £260 for a brand new ISV rather than getting/cleaning a good second hand one, I've apparently won the Swedish national lottery but can't afford the £10,000 processing/admin fee - I'd be willing to split the prize with you .... ? ;)

Seriously though, a brand new ISV would be nice but not for two hundred and sixty wing wangs when you can probably pick up a decent 2nd hand one for £20 or so.

To answer the question which hasn't so far been answered, the part itself will be at least £120-140, so add an hour labour for fitting it and you'll soon see £260 on the invoice without too much trouble. You asked them to buy it in, so they're unlikely to let you off now.