Sign in to follow this  
stemid

seized engine advice please

I bought a rado vr6 with a seized engine a few months ago. As a quick fix I bought a replacement engine and got it going and it's awesome :D

Yesterday I had a spare half hour, so thought I'd have a look at the old engine to see why it seized.

Just for the record, I have never delved into an engine block before, so I am a complete noob and some of my terminology may be wrong. But I am trying :wink:

As they say a picture is worth a thousand words, so here's what I found

Photo098.jpg

Photo103.jpg

Photo105.jpg

Photo104.jpg

The shell of the second crankshaft bearing was completely scored up. As soon as i took it out the engine would turn over lovely by hand.

Now my question, as a noob, is what would cause this?

The previous owner told me the oild light/buzzer came on, so he took it to a garage where whilst investigating it, the engine went tight. He told me the car was never driven since this point. And to be honest I believe him, as the crankshaft looks to be in good nick. I don't think it has scored it.

Secondly, to fix this, is itjust a case of new shells and away we go?

Help appreciated, this is one big learning curve :salute:

Steve

Are they all trashed or just #2? It looks like it has lost oil pressure for whatever reason, and that journal has overheated and picked up the bearing shells.

I would look carefully at the cams and the other bearings and see if there is any more damage, as its likely whatever has caused the loss of oil pressure has had some other effects as well. Check the oil pump, oil cooler, etc.

It could be that it spun that bearing first and that was the cause of the loss of oil pressure. I have heard of VR6s spinning bearings, but I don't know why they would do that in the first place without some other cause.

Hello from Crediton :wave: