fla

Any builders on here? suspended flooring issue

We've just had a ground floor extension done on the house where the floor is a suspended beam floor with hangers to the bricks. However, since completion there is still the resonance of the floor although it has a double layer of ply and we've also put some 18mm wood flooring on it. The washing machine really makes it vibrate. It seems to me that perhaps they did not use enough joist hangers? Or is this normal?

I will try some anti vibration pads under the machine, but there does appear to be a small amount of flex in the floor too. Would be interested in suggestions or comments.

I'm no expert but a washing machine on a suspended floor isn't ideal...

Is it a kitchen? If so, anywhere else you can move the machine too?

Supercharged, you're right and we were thinking of relocating to another side (original section) which has a concrete base. However, this will need new plumbing and rejugging the cabinets to suit.

Science - good article, i've seen that one plus several others so what i might do is to try and decouple the machine from the floor via some mdf and rubber feet. The only issue is the clearance between the machine and the worktop which is about 15mm. So perhaps 5mm mdf (or perhaps wood) and around 10mm rubber, which will compress a few mms.

Yeah I forgot to mention about making sure the machine is levelled properly etc - makes a huge difference if not!

If there is solid concrete I would deffo move it - the flex water pipes can be extended easily enough if you have plinth space under the cabinets - just the waste plumbing which is a pain!

how old is the machine and what condition? most machines get over-loaded all the time and this leads to distorted drums and vibration, like and out-of-balance car wheel.

I've run machines on suspended floors and concrete floors and a new or properly balanced machine should be fine even with a high spin speed.