Thursdave

Hi folks - possibly buying a G60

Hi folks. Newbie here! Always loved the looks of the 80's VW's and finally of an age to get classic insurance so ive started look for a corrado! Going to view one at the weekend which is listed as a 'minor refurb project' - is there a buyers guide anywhere i can have a read over?

Also, what is the interior space like for giants (I'm 6'6").

Hope to be spending some more time round here soon ;)

Dave.

Dave,

I'm just over 6'2" and there is not a-lot of headroom. At 6' 6" you may struggle to find a comfortable driving position.

I'd be careful with a refurb project - these have a habit of swallowing £'s. It may be better to spend a little extra in the first place amd buy a sorted car.

Edited by marks2

I am 6'4" and to be honest there is very little legroom behind the driver's seat...and more often than not I drive with the sunroof on tilt! 6'6" may be a struggle I think but you won't know until you give it a go. Good luck anyway the noise of the VR6 is alone is worth it if you can fit in...

Yeah, I'm aware that depending on what it needs it might not be fore me. Still, it's worth a look. Taking a technician friend along so we should be able to get a pretty good idea of how much work needs doing.

Cheers for the info about the head room, it might not be too bad - I fit nicely in old mk2 toyota MR2's, which being japanese aren't exactly huge, so it might be ok.

Also, sod the rear seat, that's just extra boot space for me! :D

I'm about 6'2 and yes it's pretty tight up top but ok unless I hit a big bump.. The seats are nice and wide between the bolsters though.

Check out that charger! Have a read of the G60 tuning info on here, it should give you a good idea of what to expect of a standard one.

So, I've bought a Corrado G60. :D