Sign in to follow this  
JoeNose

VR6 Engine - Precautions?

Hi all

Just about to buy a 95 VR6 from Autotek near Guildford - 71000miles, 1 owner last 4 years but partial service history only (none recent as the last guy was allegedly an engineer and serviced it himself). The car looks in extremely good condition however, the bodywork and interior are excellent, and she drives very well. The garage said they will service it before they sell.

I have no experience with this engine - my last car was a 16v C. Are there any precautionary maintainace tasks I should have done on the engine when I become the owner?

Cheers

Joe

well as autotek will be servicing it prior to you buying it,the oil should be nice and light brown looking and up to the level too

as for things to maybe do......it might be worth asking if autotek will change the fuel filter and also see if they're willing to do a coolant change........but make sure that they use the VW coolant G12+ as this can be mixed with both VW's "old"G11 and G12 coolants whereas before if you mixed G11 and G12 it would form a gel and block the passageways

i've had a fuel filter change and a coolant change done by a VW-dealer and its cost me £20 & £35 respectively(inc parts/labour/sundries)so autotek should be cheaper

also might an idea to get them to change the spark plugs at the same time......whatever you do though.....DON'T pay what VW charge for VR6 spark plugs......they can charge up to £20ea!!!!!! :shock: :roll: ........NGK's are OE/M and are easily obtainable from halfords for a fair bit less approx £5ea or under........NGK's also seem to be able to cope with the heat that the VR6 generates better than any others

My plugs were £3.50 each from VW and I bought them today! My car is A 93 VR6! POlus with teh 10 percent discount from VW if your a corrado club member of Great Britain its even less.