dingo

Steering Lock - MOT

am i right to think that all corrados came with steering locks as standard?

if so, I'll be needing a new one due to the updated MOT regulations - does anybody know a part number?

mine is a 1990 valver, don't know if theres any difference between early/late..

steering lock doesn't engage, so it's either failed or doesn't exist

thanks,

Dave

---------- Post added at 6:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 6:01 PM ----------

additionally, where do you guys get part numbers from?

maybe i can look them up in the future rather than being a complete newb :)

Your steering lock doesn't work!!?? never heard of that happening before unless mr scumbag robber has been at it. I would imagine you'll be needing either a new ignition barrel or steering column, both of which would scare the crap out of me getting a price from VW.

Oh and for part numbers I personally either google it or use vagcat (http://www.vagcat.com), its not working at the moment but you'll need to register

nope, didn't bother me when i bought the car but now they've introduced the new MOT regulations it needs replacing :@

suppose a light-fingered deviant might of been at it in the past, i've got reciepts for new window glass/dash fascia/stereo!!

not sure if they had a go at the ignition, there's no obvious damage

oh dear, REALLY hope i don't need a new steering column..

as simple as using google? awesome, I'll get doing that now. thanks

When my car got broken into and the ignition barrel smashed, I tried to break the steering lock so I could drive it home and I couldn't do it so its not like it might have worn out!

There are plenty of people breaking corrado's with steering columns you could buy, only downside is its a new key job, ie you can't tumble the ignition barrel. Make sure you check whether its adjustable or fixed when looking for one, don't know if theres any difference between early or late.