1200 bandit

Oil pressure

Can anyone tell me what the oil pressure is on a 2.0 16 v 9A engine,what temperature oil ,water should be when tested ,have replaced 2 oil pressure switches

Have a oil light flashing at 2,500 rpm ,have carried out oil pressure checks on front and rear pressure outlets (see,will it ever end for pressure reading)

The readings look high to me so thinking oil pump gone tits up

Any thoughts welcome

From cold start up at idle its common to see 5+ bar. But if you're reading much more than that I would investigate. Once at 80 degrees oil temp at idle you should have at least 1 Bar, if you have more than 2 you either have a high idle (1200+) or the relief valve in the pump may not be working. Once at 80 degrees increasing the engine speed should cause an proportinal increase in oil pressure but at higher RPM when hot if you're getting excessive pressure (8 bar plus) I would start to ask questions personally.

I work as a technician in Renault Liverpool,l though the reading are high because on a 1.5 DCI Diesel engine,and a 1.2 petrol engine the reading are

At idle speed 0.8 bar

At 3,000 rpm 3.5 bar

Engine temperature at 80 C

Any thing out of specific requireds a new oil pump

I know that this is for Renault engines

On the Manta GTE the oil pressure reading was 3.5/ 4.0 bar at 3,000 rpm

So l though that 3.5 / 4.0 bar was the normal reading

Uesing a multimeter from wiring to earth

When carried check out wiring yellow wire (rear switch) 0.0 omes open reading

On blue ( front one )reading 0.2 omes

Is the oil temperature switch on the clylinder head (gearbox side) under the dizzy

which one is the high pressure wiring so l can carry out wiring checks

Edited by 1200 bandit

Different engines have different specifications and clearances and different oil pressure tolerances because of those variations.