Sign in to follow this  
8yourcivic

G60 vs VR6

hey everybody im new to VWs (i drive a honda and hate it) and i was wondering is the G60 better than the VR6 or is the VR6 better ??? and why.

thanks

Hi,

Not trying to wind anyone up but.......... :twisted:

Ive had both and prefer the G60 over the VR6 But only if you have sorted out the G60 a little bit first- ie. chip, pulley, exhaust, de- cat, induction kit.

The engine is not as heavy as the Vr6 so the car handles better and if you do the mods that ive listed then it will be just as quick and the power will come in alot lower + the money you would save over the Vr6 will allow you to do these mods! :p

And you wont have the ridiculous fuel bill of the Vr6. (the G60 still isnt good though)

The Vr6 is also not very tuneable and the engine wont last long with any srerious mods to it ( trust me i know this :mad: ) You can supercharge them but the belts slip and the fuel consumption is similar to that of a formula one car! though not as quick- you might as well just start stuffing 50 notes in the tank! + that sort of power on a two wheel drive car is not always useable apart from in a staright line + it cost around £4k to do.

Get the G60 my Boy oh and they are rarer to unless were talking campaign Or storm VR6 :D

I've never been in a g60 but I know the vr6 is a cracking car.

The engine is heavier but the track and camber angles etc. have been altered to cope with the extra weight and the handling is fantastic with the correct suspension.

You can tune the vr6 and many have done so without problems.

Don't see why the engine would suddenly pack up if I decided to go for a bigger throttle body, rechip or vsr.

I went down the supercharged route and I can't say I've had any problems. Yes fuel economy is not as good (averages 25-27 but 30mpg on the motorway) but what do you expect. Same as any other car with similar levels of performance.