Sign in to follow this  
boost monkey

Available stroker kits for 16v engines

Hi guys,

I just been running searches for 2.1 and 2.2 Litre, but it's picking up anyting with a 1 or 2 in :mad:

So, I'll just ask you: besides the traditional KR head on 9a block, are there any kits out there to overbore / stroke either a KR or 9A past 2.0 litres?

I'm thinking 2.1 or 2.2 litre mainly, and also any experiences with either of these would be greatly appreciated!

p.s. please don't just say "don't bother".. I'm an engineer, I will need scientific proof!

Ta,

Jon.

I've certainly heard of 2.1l VW 16v's so they can be done - though not sure what is done to get em there!

Im sure you will find this place Eurospec Sport a very interesting read yet a surprisingly good wallet emptier at the same time.

Good luck, hopefully see you around these parts again in the future. :lol:

"The largest commercially available conversion for a 1.8 litre GTI engine is the AutoTech 2.1 litre kit which has an 84mm bore and a 92.8mm stroke for 2057cc... uses 2-litre Passat crankshaft, AutoTech/Mahle oversized cast pistons, new bearings and a special head gasket. For the 16 valve engines, you also need a set of reduced height oil squirters, necessary because of the size of the crankshaft."

I wouldn't farm out any of the work except the overbore/things I couldn't do myself, it's just interesting to see what's available out there really.

From what I've read the best 2L engines to take out to 2.1 are the ABF/ACE mk3 16v ones, they have a longer block, same capacity and crank throw, just longer rods making the engine better for revving high on a 2.1 build. If you bore out a 9A to 2.1 the revs generally have to be limited to about 6500rpm.

If you bore out a 9A to 2.1 the revs generally have to be limited to about 6500rpm.

How so?

Thanks for the mk3 information, great stuff! I guess my spare KR will stay a 1.8 for now then.