Sign in to follow this  
G-Lader

Engine mount fitting - easy ??

Got my engine mount through the post,cars booked in to have it fitted and other stuff on monday but if its easy I may do it myself at the w/end and save a few quid..............

Is it just a matter of locating it at the front of the engine and unscrewing a couple of bolts whilst the engine is held in place with a car jack ? Im guessing but this would seem logical ?

Anyone replaced one before ? Is it that striaghtforward or is it hard to get to ?

Cheers

Not that I'm an expert, but be careful what you're jacking up against, the sump pan in particular is way too weak to support the engine!

Point taken - I would have 'supported' the engine on its edge but may be I should leave it for the garage to do when they change over my disks/pads on monday......

It is fairly easy to do- one bolt on top- i think a 13mm nut and one on the bottom.

put a jack under the front part of the engine not the sump and loosen the bolts on the engine mount.

You will need to jack the front of the engine slightly- tiltiing it backward a bit so that the mount bolt can be pulled out of the front engine mount on the block.

i had to take of the radiator mounts and gently push the rad out of the way so to give enough room to move the olds mount and pull it out. then just put the new one in place, tighten the bottom bolt and release the jack so it sits on the mount bolt.

Its sound preety difficult but it's not- should take no longer that about half an hour.

Hope this helps...

cheers - thought it must be pretty easy as the Garage only qouted £25 labour...........so put the jack on the 'edge of the bottom of the engine where the sump bolts on' ? Is that right ?

Dont jack on the sump mate as it will just squash it and you really dont want that :shock: