carrots

alpine ida x305 poor base

hi ive not long fitted a alpine ida x305 ,has anyone else got one and thinks the base is poor.ive got 6x9 speakers in the back and the fronts are not standard.ive been thinking about an active sub and like the idea of the under the seat type but cant see one fitting under a corrado seat.can anyone help with ideas.i dont want to spend a fortune and have some massive thing in boot.also it wont keep its memory so is that just a case of swopping the lives around.cheers

Hi,

A few issues there...trying to take them in order...

You won't get much bass from a stereo without running a separate amp. You'll be lucky if the inbuilt amp is pushing 25w rms, nowhere near enough to drive a set of 6x9s properly. Your best bet is to run a separate amp, thus opening up a load more power whilst taking the load off the Alpine HU.

As to what to do about bass, then yeah - you'll need a sub. I'm new to Corrado ownership but the interior looks pretty cramped to fit a shallow sub - you could always get a 10" sub in the boot - I've seen some nifty things done with the spare wheel well and making it into an enclosure. A decent 4 channel amp will power a sub and a decent set of components (or coaxials) in the front.

I've never liked 6x9s. Don't see the point alongside a sub and components. I'm intending to fit some decent Hertz front components (5.25" to retain standardish door pockets) and a 10" Hertz sub in a sealed enclosure with an Infinity 4-channel amp mounted to the back of the sub box. It won't knock your fillings out but should be bassy enough for my taste.

And yes - swapping red and yellow wire in the loom should save your radio, track position etc.

Agree with above, you'll never get good bass from a head unit, best to get an amp to run a sub in the boot.

I'm not a fan of 6x9s in the shelf, a good setup will only need components in the front and a sub in the boot