Sign in to follow this  
Tekara

Fluid Related ??

Hi All

Just recently started to notice a few things on the C wondering if they are related.

1: Brakes, problem im having is they sometimes feel responsive other times they are very vague, almost as if they dont really want to work. Disks, pads and front callipers have been changed recently. This was done about 300 miles ago.

2: Clutch, this has started to feel on occasion rather heavy other times its a little lighter

3: Steering has started to make a graunching noise at about 1/2 - full lock, normal driving the steering is a little wobbly in the centre and evenly weighted once the wheels start to move.

Car is due a service in a month times, after flicking through the service schedule i noticed its not had the brake fluid changed since 2001. Could all of the above have anything to do with this ?

Thanks in advance

I'm no expert by any means, but if you've had your brakes changed recently and they aren't working properly then it sounds very much like the fluid needs at least bleeding, if not changing. As you've done 300 miles it should rule out the bedding in period that new pads need (usually 200ish miles til they are working fully).

All 3 systems use separate fluid, so if isn't related by the fluid alone. However one of the cylinders (I forget which) works for both the clutch and brakes.

Your steering graunch noise could be any number of things, but it sounds like it's probably bearings (either wheel or top mount) or similar. Again, I'm no expert, but it's just a guess.

Ah you might be onto something there, now taking the thread totally off topic. Clearly showing my lack on knowledge under the bonnet with the fluid. Top mounts could be something, had the tracking done about 3 weeks ago after i bought the car, wasnt convinced that all was right after having it done. Its due back in the garage soon for a bit more work, will ask them to take a look at that. Will also ask for them to check the brakes over too.