EJ Taylor

CAMS, cams, and more cams

im new to the vr6 world and im going to be putting cams on my 2.9 would really appreciate some advice and info on what they are standard... and what u can change them to without encountering problems?

thanks

If you do a search for this is will bring up loads on info but basics are that 263 or thereabout seem to get the best results for the VR. There is 263 Schimmels or 262 Autotech's, some use 268 Schricks.

From what i've read (and plan to do myself) SP263s are a good bet, both for naturally aspirated or forced induction.

I have 263's in mine and despite disappointing results on the rolling road, it does feel quick... will steam it's way up to 100MPH no problems, and I've watched it effortlessly pull round to 130 without much sign of letting up (when I was in Germany back in September before anyone asks) but I wimped out at that point - certainly a worthy modification!

well cams are as an addition to stainless steel manifold and exhaust system, port n polish to match manifold, and a chip, so all in all im hoping this will equate to something special in comparison to the standard build.

If you want to get really technical and do some deeper research, you'll find out which is the best side to port match and which you should leave alone.

Sometimes porting and polishing everything isn't the best idea.

Im in the SP 263 corner too.... got wicked results on dyno & feels great too. Id get a decent remap to compliment them too........ feels much better!

If you want to get really technical and do some deeper research, you'll find out which is the best side to port match and which you should leave alone.

Sometimes porting and polishing everything isn't the best idea.

Indeed. Not worth it on the VR6 unless big valves are fitted to compliment the cams.

i got big valve head and lost 40bhp with a schrick cam.