Sign in to follow this  
Gman

Brakes - how can i make them better

I know this has been discussed before but here goes again

I have a standard 1.8 16v on standard 15" wheels and the brakes are SH*T. The pedal feels like porridge (and a bit spongy). The disc's are a bit worn but not worn out. Not had a look at the pads yet but I am sure there is a little bit of taper wear on them.

I can still lock the wheels (don’t have ABS)

What can I do to make them better? Would TT callipers work on the front and back? Or Mk 4 callipers (not sure if they are different to the TT).

The bottom line is I want better feeling brakes for as cheap as pos. (I am a student)

G

I know this has been discussed before but here goes again

I have a standard 1.8 16v on standard 15" wheels and the brakes are SH*T. The pedal feels like porridge (and a bit spongy). The disc's are a bit worn but not worn out. Not had a look at the pads yet but I am sure there is a little bit of taper wear on them.

I can still lock the wheels (don’t have ABS)

What can I do to make them better? Would TT callipers work on the front and back? Or Mk 4 callipers (not sure if they are different to the TT).

The bottom line is I want better feeling brakes for as cheap as pos. (I am a student)

I know that the Pagid FR pads with the standard VAG disks do wonders for stopping power and pedal feel on the VR, but I'm not sure if you can get them for the valver.

Changing the brake fluid could also help the pedal feel out if it's not been done recently...

I had this conversation with someone myself recently, and staying away from the obvious expensive options, I was told that G60 calipers at the front with Mk4 Golf calipers at the back (with some slight modifcations to the brake lines) was the way forward... (together with better discs!). I'm still waiting for a costing on this, so no idea how cheap/expensive this will be (but should be less than brembo et al).