Sign in to follow this  
Heardy

Vr stalling and vagcom fault codes

I need some help with my vr6 i've just fitted some new timing chain's etc and now it will only just tickover it's about 500 rpm and also when revved it stall's.Ive checked it with vagcom and it comes up with

idle speed regulation

09-00 adaption limit surpassed.

I've been told that it needs adjusting in vagcom is this right?

Is there any instruction's on the web on how to do this as i've never done this before. The car used to run perfect before and i'm presuming it's because the battery has been disconnected for so long(hope so anyway)

Cheers Jason

There's nothing that you can adjust in VAG-COM - it's for diagnostics only. You can reset the basic throttle settings, but these being out won't cause it to stall - they'll just improve the throttle response.

Judging by that error message - it sounds like your ISV needs a clean. Have a search for more info on that. Basically you take it out, douse it in carb cleaner or similar and re-fit.

ISV is spotless and so is throttle body.I checked the timing load's of times before i rebuilt it so i'm confident that it's okay.The car run's great other than that goes like a train!!

Dinkus are you sure that you can't the tickover in vagcom i spoke to our electrician who we use at work and he seemed to think you could but he couldnt remember what channel it was in.

Thanks again

I think you need to check the TPS angles out, again on VAGCOM.

On tickover the throttle angle was 11.2 the isv adaptationwas 1.000 and the isv duty cyclewas 74.8 if that means anything to you..

Idle speed is governed by the chip and not adjustable via VAG-COM.

One thing worth checking is the little black damper pot which connects to the ISV. There's a little foam insert in there which can get sucked into the hose, impeding flow.

Also double check the ISV loom and ensure you haven't accidentally severed a wire etc.