Sign in to follow this  
scoobyd00

Does a C still 'hamdle' on 17 inch alloys....

I'm looking at a few options at the moment ... given the C came on 15 inc alloys and most probably hamdles best on them can I hear the pro's and con's against them - granted for many big brake kits they are essential - interested to hear how people find them day to day... not really into 'hamming' just for the sack of it as living with such a car can be a pita and ultimately make it terrible for those more spirited driving moments - I am a driver and have little interest in polish btw.

Let me know 8)

Yeah as catch_twotwo said, 17's do tramline esp wide 1's. i remember someone on here sayin (think it was trigger my son) that 17's for looks and 16's for a better ride. so if u enjoy ya spirted driving moments then i'd go with 16's. and you can still fit the tt 312mm setup behind 16's afaik.

Depends how wide the 17s are and what size tyre you have on them. I had 17" TT comps on mine with 205/40/17 tyres on them, and coilovers, Never had a problem. Hamdled well.

Yeah it depends exactly what you mean really. With 17s you don't get any of the rolling on the tyre sidewalls, so the car feels much more precise. And loads of grip from the squarer-shouldered tyres.

The RIDE is better with 15s but thats fek all to do with the hamdling. !7s are a fair bit harsher in terms of ride comfort.

Personally I like 17s best.

Must say that when I dropped from my 17x7 BKs with 205/40 tyres to 16x7.5 Momos with 205/45 Uniroyal tyres I noticed what I perceived to be a huge improvement in hamdling and even acceleration.

Tempest

I really don't get the acceleration thing. The percentage difference in overall size is so small. I never notice any difference in acceleration going from 17's to 15's tbh.

The only thing I really notice improving is the suspensions ability to control the wheels due to the weight difference (and the ride).