Sign in to follow this  
timatsorted

New VR6 owner. A few basic questions...

Hi guys. I've just bought a 94 VR6, 80k on the clock.

Just had it fully serviced and checked over. Needs an engine mount and two tyres but pretty good apart from that.

I need a top tip for starting. It doesn't fire up first time. The manual says that it should be started with the clutch depressed and I've tried this but it still takes two or three goes. It had new plugs in the service. Whats the knack for starting 'em?

If I get an up-rated headlamp loom, will I need new bulbs?

I have a slight squeak on the steering. sounds like it's inside the car, on the column somewhere. Any ideas?

Finally, what sort of oil should I use?

Thanks... you'll be hearing from me again, I reckon!

Welcome to the club, I just got a VR of similar mileage as well :D Must be a good week for it!

Can't help you with most of it because I'm still learning too, but I'm having the same starting joys. See my thread here for how that progresses.

The uprated headlight loom is designed to work with the existing bulbs, it's just more efficient at getting the juice to them so you get less voltage drop and a brighter light.

H100VW (Gavin) does a good uprated headlight loom for £50 :D

Quantum SIlver semi-synthetic. Available form VW, GSF, ECP etc.

If it turns over well enough, but doesn't catch it "might" mean the injectors need cleaning. By that I mean removal, disassembly etc, not just whacking some "injector cleaner" in the tank.

VR6's never start on the key - is always the first / second revolution of the engine when it starts...

The noise you mention on the steering is the brass contact that goes between the steering wheel and the ring on the column.. if you look down between them you can see it easily - it picks up dust, etc and get noisy - 5 min job to clean!

As for oil - defo 10W 40 Quantum Silver (£10 for 5 litres from VW)

Scott.

The manual says that it should be started with the clutch depressed