Sign in to follow this  
delfinis38

Trolly Jack / Axle stands

Anyone bought a trolly jack / set of axle stands recently are their any good deals around..

Just been looking at this in Screwfix http://www.screwfix.com/prods/66742/Automotive/Jacks-Stands/2-Tonne-Combi-Kit Anyone like to comment on how good or bad it is. Okay it's not top notch quality but i only want to use it to replace my ageing stuff that gets used very occasionally. stuff like changing exhausts disc and pads.

Well i bought a trolley jack set from argos, their Challenge set. Its still ok and was only £10 (half price), including trolley jack, 2 axles stands and wheel chocks. For my use its fine, i'm no professional though.

I had that exact set but took it back after a couple of weeks as the non return valve on the jack gave up, meaning the handle would rise back up on its own and the jack would start to fall, it also had a small leak from the main piston seal, and one of the axle stands was very badly welded, I didn't trust it enough to use it, those folding axle stands are just too flimsy and the car shifts about too much on them IMO.

I prefer these type of axle stands, much stronger and easy to adjust. axle stands

cant really go wrong with the machine mart stuff and I now have one of these 2 ton trolley jack

i have six of the halfords ratchet axle stands my G60 has been on them for the last 7-8 months without moving, worked fine and were only £15 a pair (i think)

heh funny this should come up. Found out my trolley jack has packed up. So i went to the nearest car accessories store being MotorWorld. Got a bargin trolley jack, 2 ton - £10 down from £20 :D

Thanks all... I'd planned a visit to machine mart in southampton at the weekend to pick a few other bit's up so i will have a look at the clarke jacks and stands while i'm their. i was a bit cautious of the fact the stands folded and may not be secure enough.