Sign in to follow this  
bigrichi

Change Blue temp sensor, now heaters wont blow hot?

I recently changed the blue temp sensor on my VR6 recently.

Was the first time I'd done it and being an amateur I dropped all the coolent.

So I changed the sensor and refilled the coolent but now the interior blowers wont blow hot.

What have I done guys???

You have put an air lock in it mate, not sure how easy it is on the vr6 but should be easy enough.

Try running it with the coolant cap off, and its best topped up from the top rad hose i think, generally a bit of squeezing the pipes might help :norty:

I'm sure someone of proper knowledge will be along soon enough :lol:

Have used the search and think I may well have an airlock.

Have tried running it with the cap off until up to temp but hasnt made any difference.

I am cosidering draining all the coolent and refilling but when you refill, do you refill with the engine running??

If anybody wants to post up a quick dumb dumb's guide I'd be over the moon :nuts:

Have used the search and think I may well have an airlock.

Have tried running it with the cap off until up to temp but hasnt made any difference.

I am cosidering draining all the coolent and refilling but when you refill, do you refill with the engine running??

If anybody wants to post up a quick dumb dumb's guide I'd be over the moon :nuts:

The only tip that really works is: take your time - pour in the coolant at a slow pace and in a steady stream.

Oh, and make sure your heater is set to maximum before you start filling.

Once up to the MAX mark, start the engine but leave the cap off. Let it warm up a little, switch off the engine and top back up to max.

and squeeze as many hoses as you can (the top rad is the one you really want tho) once up to temp (so the stat is open) with the cap off. wear gloves if you don't have asbestos hands.