scarlet_vr6

Ghost in the Shell (and Appleseed)

anyone watched Ghost in the Shell? I watched the original film tonight and really enjoyed it. I can see where the idea for The Matrix came from... I'm very new to watching anime but I love Appleseed - think it's awesome!

Anyway, the main reason for this post was to see if anyone has seen GITS and wondered like me, if that's supposed to be a Corrado that Bateau drives towards the end of the film? It can be seen really clearly at exactly 1hr and there's another reasonable shot of it at 1.02.24... Is it just wishful thinking on my part after not having my car on the road for the best part of a year?

I watched the 1988 Appleseed years ago & enjoyed that.

The newer one, I thought I wouldn't like it but I was actually pretty good.

Liked the start with "Good Luck" playing

I seem to remember thinking that at the time, too ..

Don't know if it is, or it's just a generic shape of car.

yes, could just be generic but the film is from 1995 so the right era and it looks like it has that lovely curve from bonnet to boot. I'm going to go with it being a C, mostly cos I want it to be!

Metallix, I haven't seen the original Appleseed, just the recent one but I like the opening with 'Good Luck' too :)

Ghost in the shell is a great film the 2nd film is a little hard to follow.

If your getting into manga akira should be your next stop, great story and an amazing sound track to go with it.

The best version is the original with English subtitles that were translated by a jap think it's on VHS only, the later version was done by an American which makes for a cheesy translation and looses some of the emotion in what's being said.

Not seen appleseed will give it a whirl though.

thanks, I will look up Akira at some point. I still have a video player so I might be able to pick up a bargain from ebay!