J.C

£5 headlight solution

I've been doing some research on the dim headlight problem, I know you can get looms which work BUT being a cheapskate and having a bit of time on my hands, I looked into it,

Now it's generally been said that it's the length of the wiring which cause the voltage drop but generally it's the switches which cause a drop in voltage, this was my presumption and I carried out the mod and THEN did some measurements (which I will reveal later)

So if you believe the wiring doesn't cause most of the voltage drop, then why modify the wiring from the fusebox to the lights,

so I kept that standard,

So I presumed the 2 switches (Headlight and full beam) were the cause of the Voltage drop, I studied the wiring diagram and decided it would be nice to install a relay on the fusebox for the lights, the available ones were relay position 1, 5 & 7,

Now I'm planning a mkiv climatronic aircon install so position 1 (Aircon relay) was ruled out, position 5, (Coolant buzzer relay ) couldn't handle the current the lights take,

So it left relay position 7 (Headlight washer relay)

I ordered 2 relays off ebay for less than £5 delivered, I ordered 2 to keep a spare in the car,

So now to the wiring,

I cut the yellow wire from the headlight switch (via full beam switch) 20cm from Connector J/3, I then soldered(you can crimp if you've got a good set of crimpers) a female spade connector onto the end from J/3 and then covered in heatshrink, this goes to terminal B/6

The yellow wire from the switch(s)gets a small female spade connector, heatshrink sleaving, this goes to B/1

Next you need to get a negative to terminal B/4, I did this by using a 10cm piece of wire from an old loom I had lying around, The reused connector "locks" into place in terminal C/3 and then a small female spade connector to B/4.

To supply battry voltage to the relay I made up a 30cm long heavy duty cable (from old loom again) and soldered female spade connectors on each end,