Storm

How to convert an Auto to a Manual

Finally got round to writing this little lot up, I'm not a mechanic so would appreciate anyone sounding the alarm bells if necessary.

What you do need is

Cooling:

a) Top rad hose, connects the Rad to the thermo and top of the expansion tank.

b) The one that connects the thermo housing to the auxilary water pump and bottom of the expansion tank.

c) Buy a new Radiator from ECP, you probably dont need it but for £117 its worth it as the old one will be pretty clogged.

d) 2 bottles of G12 about £20 from the main dealer.

New lost head bolts for the steering column £5

Accelerator Cable there are two types

Gearbox W/ all associated bits including

Reverse switch

Flywheel

NEW clutch, bearing etc

New flywheel bolts

Transmission mounting

Interior trim piece’s, shift boot and shift knob

Starter motor

Pedal assembly /Pedal cluster

Shifter Box

Shifter Cables

Clutch Master cylinder and slave cylinder

Clutch hydraulic lines etc.

Slave cylinder bracket

What you don't need (I have checked this little lot on ETKA)

No throttle body swap needed

No harness needed, just tap into essential relays n backup switch

No 5spd driveshafts needed

No ecu swap needed since harness isn't swapped

You do not need the Engine ECU! The gearbox ECU piggy backs off of the engine ECU.

Try to use a new clutch & flywheel.

The hardest part was getting the gearbox out. Its alot bigger than a manual and weighs about 100lbs more.

ETKA differences

After trawling through ETKA for the really pedantic (surely that should be pervy) like me!

21-50 Cooling hoses

104-00 Steering column

105-20 Bracket

116-20 Tandem Master cylinder

122-00 Shift Mechanism Manual

123-00 Shift mechanism Auto

126-00 Pedal Box identical

175-00 Trim interior shift mechanism

202-00 Steering column Lock

204-00 ECU

211-20 Instruments, PCB rev counter

Single t piece to double on hydraulic circuit

202-00 Steering wheel keylock

215-50 Relay for Starter interlock