Sign in to follow this  
Riley

lambda wiring issues,,,page 4 :!:

alright guys,today i started minting the g60. 8)

1/took out the airbox by disconnecting the pipe from the box end,is it normal to have oil in here?/the airbox?

2/also i popped out the plastics inside as i heard this was good for getting more cold air and a nice induction noise,it sounds mental! is it normal to have a droning type noise?

3/next,with having read up a little about the boost return mod,i thought id pop the pipe off the bottom of the throttle body,and yep,whoosh when you let off the throttle and a whistling type noise while the revs build up.

is it ok to use like this for now?

and how do i carry out this mod properly?

i know i need to blank off the charger where the pipe went,but what happens to the isv and breather thingy on the rocker cover?

could i not leave them and the pipe in place then blank off the pipe where it went on the throttle body?

cheers for any advice,im still learning. :D

neil.

Oil in the airbox doesn't sound healthy... has your charger been checked out recently?

The Droning noise is normal when the airbox silencer thing has been removed

For the boost return mod, you should:

blank off the open side of the charger (either with a plate, or fit another air filter there somehow)

Fit a small breather filter to the end of the ISV - stops an oily mist from being sprayed in your engine bay

and for the breather ontop of the rocker cover, attach a long piece of pipe, and feed that into an oil catch tank (or just under the car out of harms way)

Job done :)

is it ok to use like this for now?

and how do i carry out this mod properly?

I wouldn't in case any foreign objects (and unfiltered air) get into the charger...

You put a small K&N on the ISV and a pipe onto the breather (catch tank optional)

thanks guys :D

ill hook the pipe back up to the t/body for now then.

aye i have receipts to say the charger had a stage 2 rebuild 10k ago at jabba?

neil.