Sign in to follow this  
PhilsLadyC

Need advice and tips on repairs I'm about to do

Hi everyone,

I'm about to replace a fair number of parts (wheel related) on my VR6 and I wondered if anyone could give me any tips as I'm a novice when it comes to this kind of thing.

I've got the Bentely manual so I should be able to get the gist of it but I'm just looking for any gotchas or tools I will need for the job.

Here's what I'm replacing:

* 288mm Brake discs, calipers and pads for the front

* replacement pads for the rear

* replacing standard shocks with Vipertech to match my Vipertech springs

* powerflex rear axle bushes

* rear bearings

* goodridge braided brake hoses

I think that's about it.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Phil

CCGB#1851

'94 Blackberry VR6

bushes will be a bitch to do...and suspension can be a sod to remove bolts

Brakes should be ok if you are handy.

I just got very similar work done to that list today.

Cost me 600 odd quid tho and included new rad and all timing/charger/alt belts

Thanks munkay.

Anyone know if I'll need any tools. I've got a socket set plus all the usual screwdrivers, alan keys, hammer(!) etc but wondered if I needed anything else. Oh and I've got axle stands will this be enough to do the bushes?

Thanks again

bushes are a sod.....really need to remove the back axle...the brake lines could snap...treat em with wd40 a few times ,and dont forget to have an anlignment done after the suspension work

to be brutally honest..the fact you are asking all this I would recommend you got it done at a garage.

Maybe do the discs yourself but allow a day at be VERY careful.

To do bushes you will need more than axle stands IMHO

Not the sort of thing you want make a dogs dinner of

Hammer + bearings is a dangerous combination ;)

also the fact you have got decent parts..is it worth comprimising them??