EssexPaul

Replacement Wishbones For VR6

Evening everybody,

This is my first 'real' post so go easy!

I have been told that I need to replace my wishbones at the front. I initially took the car to the tyre/exhaust garage as I thought the front wheels were out of alignment. It turned out to be the tracking. The fault only became apparent last summer.

I have called around a few places and it seems that the wishbones themselves are readily available.

My question really is do the Ball Joints and Bushes also need to be replaced? Are there any other parts that I need to get too?

Is there any other preparation work, or work following them being fitted that I would need to do?

Thank you for your help in advance.

Paul

The securing bolts on the wishbones have a nasty and quite frequent habit of shearing. The wishbones themselves are readily available aftermarket. Lots recommend R32 rear bushes, although I have no experience personally. The wishbones are available with these fitted from veedubmachine iirc. Its your call to replace just the bushes and doing it in situ, or removing and/or replacing the wishbone tbh mate.

Iv got two wish bones i could sell , then you could powdercoat them up like new and then but your desired bushes in them , there origional vw ones aswell

The ball joints can swap over. They dont come with the wishbones. Although you might need to renew the bolts and retaining plate that holds ball joint on.

Droplinks from the anti roll bar need undoing. Worth seeing if they need renewing.

Engine has to be jacked up or sump removed to get one of the wishbone bolts out.

It's worth getting some plusgas and spraying all the bolts whenever you can leading up to the work. Should help getting them out.

Where in Essex are you?