Sign in to follow this  
ChesterBTM

Corrado's and rust

hi guys and gals.

im in the market to buy a new car and i have my heart set on a corrado VR6, the thing is as i have been a student for the last 5 years i have had some fairly old cars to get me about (mainly fiestas). it feels like i am always fixing bodywork especially rust and to be fair im getting pretty browned off with it.

So my question to u knowlegable people here is, is there much of a rust problem with corrado's as they are starting to get old? if so are there any hotspots that need to have an eye kept on?

thanks very much for looking and i appreciate your help.

Rob

I've had a few places on mine... but for a 15 year old car it's pretty good.

Area's that I've seen are an issue seem to be the door edges, the door sills, near the filler cap (I think) and for me around the front close to the lights.

Hi mate, welcome aboard.

Out of the 6 Corrados i've had , only the one i've got currently has had any rust whatsoever. Corrado's were built by hand, if you ever try and get a panel off you'll see the ammount of underseal they used was more than enough :lol:

Rust is usually a siagn of a bad accident repair (( I assume my car is a victim of this as there's alot of rust on the front arch ))

The few spots that can occationaly rust to my knowledge are under the spoiler and around the rear number plate surround.

Have a quick check around for it, but in my experience rust is really not a problem with Corrados.

Have a look at this buying guide in the Forum Knowledge Base for more info! :)

the corrados are galvanized, and doesn't rust unless they've been in an accident or whatever. any marks and "repaired" bodywork will rust. Any rust should be explained by the owner. The only place mine has rusted is a bit under the battery, and it's not really rust, but rust color.

wow thanks for your help guys and especially with the amazingly fast response.

a corrado is looking better and better all the time.