Sign in to follow this  
Rossco

G60 blue temp sender

Im pretty convinced my blue temp sender is goosed, car is a bitch to start and there is a fair smell of petrol when it does start, idle is also weird. I think the stealer needs to order the senders in but in the mean time will its still be ok to run the car??

Cheers

Ross

im still learning about g60's,but generally its not good to have an engine over fuelling.

can coke up the head,and worse still if its really bad it could cause bore wash and loss of compression.

if you really do have to drive it,i would be keeping the revs a tad higher than normal to try burn as much fuel as you can.

someone please tell me if im talking shit!

neil. :)

I have had problems with the blue sensors from GSF - only lasted 6 months on the Golf and then started overfuelling. I would stick to original VW parts in this case.

The dealers will have these in stock as do GSF...

You can try swapping the blue and black plugs round to isolate the problem (ie check it is the BTS) - I would change them both anyway while your at it (same age and all that)

take the plug off while car is running.. should make a change to the revs... if not then you know its shot

Are these easy to change?? Ie can i do them?? because i think i have the same problem! i get a weird smell of petrol on start up and idle too!

Can some one tell me the GSF Part number??

Thanks in Advance

Rustynuts, There is a minimum 12 month warranty on all parts that we sell - take your sensor back (with the invoice) & they'll give you a new one.

Alternatively, send your faulty one to me & I'll send you a new one. :wink:

Can some one tell me the GSF Part number??
GSF part number is 93494A

seal ring is 17953A

Dead easy to change - just unplug the old one, take it out of the housing & do the reverse with the new one.