fla

Advice needed:'Accident' in which my insurance seems to want to pay out?

I was involved in an incident in December last year where I was reversing onto a main road in the evening and it was wet.

After having reversed, engaged first gear I heard a thump as though a bird had hit the car, literally as soon as I had started moving off. I parked up further down the road and saw on my side that a guy had come off his scooter, the scooter was a fair distance up the road and he was in the middle of the road. It seemsed that the thump on the car was his sandwiches as there was no damage whatsoever to the car, not even a scuff, so thankfully it wasn't him. He must have been going at a fair pace to have skidded off that far up the road. I made a statement to the police but it seems now that the injured chap is claiming through his insurance who inturn are claiming from ours (I am a named driver), although from my perspective and indeed it seemsed from the impression that the police had, it was entirely the scooter guy's fault for riding so fast.

I spoke earlier to the insurance company who said we would have to pay, but also said that they were investigating the case further.

Where do I stand on this?

Thanks in advance.

if you don't believe you are to blame them you should put that position on the insurance accident form. However from the limited information available it does sound like you could be at fault for reversing from a minor road to a major road.

As far as I was aware it is illegal to be reversing onto a main road unguided so if that was the case then you would probably automaticly be to blame.

it was actually a driveway where there was no other way other than in reverse, simply due to the width of the drive.

Portent - will do, thanks.

Is it just the sandwiches you have to pay for?

:rofl:

it was actually a driveway where there was no other way other than in reverse, simply due to the width of the drive.

Portent - will do, thanks.