slider

a very green newbie here

Hi Guys

My names simon,

ive recently bought a vr6 1194 model,

its got a selection of faults as no doubt many have so heres hoping you lot can help out

gear selection is shocking, 1st/reverse are very hard to get, 5th sounds like its going into reverse sometimes

sunroof is jammed, will tilt up with a thump and then needs a little bar wacked before it will go back down

bonnet release cable wont release passenger side from inside the car, it pops drivers side enough to release the grill then i yank the cable from there to open it

Hi Simon

It sounds like easy to fix items. Have a search around the forum, the guys on here know everything you would ever need to know.

Get some pictures of the car up in the readers ride section, it would be great to see what you've got

Top tip when Adjusting your bonnet catches:-

Remove your front grille.

That way if the adjustment doesn't work you can still open the bonnet manually.

A little time and patience with possibly cleaning and lubricating the parts to ensure all springs back OK. Then it is just down to adjusting the trumpet. Think it is 8mm spanner (definitely small). Easypops on here has some replacement cables and that definitely helped mine.

As for the sunroof. .... give yourself a weekend and take it all out. Strip it, clean it, check to ensure the LH slider isn't broken where it joins onto the cable and lubricate all with some ebay moly grease ( 1/3rd price of vw and works).

Mk3 golf motors fit the later corrado and are a straight plug in better swap.

The only reason I suggest such a big job, is that if it is struggling now, it will possibly break soon and all parts are obsolete.

So well worth doing, as a lot of corrados have this broken

Good luck mate. You will get to know all the usual issues

Cressa

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

Top tip when Adjusting your bonnet catches:-

Remove your front grille.