Sign in to follow this  
theRuler

. . . and then the car filled with steam . . .

morning chaps long time no speak.

i got a "situation"

just before i arrived at work today, there was a big pssssssssssssssss-shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh-ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff ing noise. my fan switch was set to "3" (1, 2 and 3 dont work) and i though wow fan position 3 has started working again!

no such luck

the woooshing sound got louder, and then the whole car filled with steam.

it was coming from behind the clocks. well from all around the clocks, and there was water running down to the drivers footwell.

now i'm not a mechanic, but i'd say there's a chance that something could be wrong.

i had to pull over and let the steam out, and wipe the windscreen a bit, then i made the last dash (about 200 yards) to work.

i presume i am looking at a popped heater matrix. i had one go before on a mk2 golf. thankfully that time only on the drive and vw replaced it for free due to some fault recall.

is there a similar recall for my 94 corrado vr6?

yup sounds like the heater matrix , not sure about a recall tho

it could possibly be a perished hose or bad connection to the matrix....if you're lucky

There was a recall, but due to the car being 10+ years old now, they are very unlikely to uphold it.

They only need to keep it open for 6 years IIRC, so it's a bit late...

Better get ya' spanners and screw-drivers out. It'll be a long night...and day...and night... ;)

damn.

my 1988 mk2 golf matrix was replaced by VW in 2000. i'll try vw - never know!

failing that i'll nip out of the office with a screwdriver and get the plastic bits off and have a look.

is it hard to change the matrix? the last one i did myself was in a mk1 golf!!

Sounds like the heater matrix.. I had the same happen to me...

First off.. get all the carpets out the car and wash them anbd dry them out to get all the coolant out.